General Nissan Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Maxima trouble

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 12:43 PM
Default Maxima trouble

Hey folks, this is my first time posting here so please be forgiving :-). I'm in desperate need of some tech help if anyone can give me a hand.

I bought a 97 Maxima in March of this year with 200k miles. I drove it for a while but the clutch wore out and I needed to get it replaced. At the same time, I replaced the left front drive axle as that was worn out, as well.

After the work had been done, the car wouldn't start. All electrical connections were put back in place, and the engine would turn, but it wouldn't fire.

We removed the Crankshaft sensor and dusted it off. After putting it back in, the car started.

We shut off the engine after a few minutes and tried it again. No fire. Once again. No fire. We took the battery out and replaced it with a newer one. Tried that. It started up fine. We drove it out of the garage and up and down the driveway a few times. It drove perfectly, indicating the clutch was installed fine. After shutting off the engine, it wouldn't start again.

Long story short, on some occasions, the engine will fire, while on others, it will not. All of the times it started were not related to each other.

Looking at the trouble codes, we've found the following:

Mass Air Sensor malfunction or circuit fault
Crankshaft POS malfunction or circuit fault
Crankshaft REF malfuction or circuit fault

Any clues on what could be happening? We've also tried a timing light and one time it showed fire, but ever since then, there's been nothing happening.

If anyone can clue me in, it would be a GREAT help. Thanks a bunch.

Matt

Old 04-17-2009, 12:54 PM
Super Moderator

had it been sitting a while? because they could have burned out

Old 04-17-2009, 01:03 PM