Nissan Maxima The flagship luxury sedan from Nissan, combining performance with all of the modern touches you woudl expect in a luxury car.

'98 stalls out

Old 12-28-2006, 08:23 PM
Default '98 stalls out

newbie here, am hoping someone can help. i love my car but i’m def NOT knowledgeable about repairs & i always worry about getting ripped off at the shop. (am on the lookout for a new
shop since the last one did just that with my subaru.)

‘98 maxima with 70,000 miles. when i start it, the rpm’s immediately go way down, it stutters, then stalls. this might happen 6 times in a row, might not happen for days. it seems to happen
more when it’s cold out than warm (it might happen multiple times on a cold day, but none at all on a warm one) or when the engine has cooled down & been sitting a long time, like
overnight or when i’ve been at work all day. so far, i’ve been able to get it to eventually start & stay running but am worried that it will eventually quit on me when i’ve got my baby with me.
can anyone give me ideas to approach a shop with?

thanks,
alli

Old 12-29-2006, 05:21 AM
Default RE: '98 stalls out

Rippin will happen... if the rippers are not afraid of gettin caught. Therefore politely demand beforehand all YOUR used spares back and tell them "that my friend at Ford wants to check them later"; lessens danger being charged on nothin.

Start practizing babysittin 24hr/day now: never leave your car(baby) in a shop -or- you might see it on a race track
Just sit by, even if you dont know whats happening. A true serviceman isnt bothered by smbdy watchin and tells what he is doing: fishy places tell customers outright that they are not allowed in. Just dont disturb his work; questions allowed ...you'll see what is swapped - if anythin, and pay only for actual spares/hours. Just dont leave your car unattended or overnight but only in extreme case.